Featured Artist: Nidhi Chanani

Nidhi Chanani

Nidhi Chanani Illustration

Owner and Artist

Location: San Francisco

Medium: Graphic Illustration

“Road to Hana”

How would you describe your work?

Colorful, happy illustrations.

                                         What inspires you?

Everything! The sunlight cascading on buildings, the fog rolling in, the love in my life, the cute things that people say, nicknames and delicious food… the smell of summer. Inspiration is everywhere.

“City Lights”

How did you get started as an artist or craftsperson?

I feel as though I’ve always been an artist or a creative person… I originally started with creative writing and then found my way into art. I love being able to tell stories with my illustrations… its a way of creating narrative through images.

When and why did you start selling your work?

I started selling my work in the middle of 2010 so that I could explore the idea of a career based on passion. It’s worked so far!

“Rolling in the Deep”

What is a favorite piece of art you’ve created that you just can’t bear to part with?

I have a wood burning that I just finished that I absolutely love… I will be putting it in a show, but part of me wants to keep it!

Who are some of your favorite artists?

I love the work of Kurt Halsey, Julie West, Norman Rockwell, Renee Magritte and so many others – musicians, writers… so many artists influence me I would be here all night listing them!

Nidhi is having her first solo show Friday, September 9th at Rare Device at 1845 Market St. San Francisco, CA.   The opening reception will be the 9th from 6pm-9pm and her work will be displayed from September 9th thru October 31st, 2011.

Nidhi Chanani Illustrations can be purchased at Urban Bazaar, 1371 9th Ave, San Francisco, CA.    For more information on Nidhi Chanani, check out her website at:  http://e-nidhi.com/

http://www.UrbanBazaarSF.com

 

Leave a Reply

